University of Sulaimani 

University of Sulaimani (UoS) was first established in 1968, the main campus is located in the city of Sulaimani in Kurdistan of Iraq. In the beginning there were only three colleges but during the years that followed, the number of the colleges increased dramatically as the result of growing demands of higher education in the country. 

In 1981, the former Iraqi regime transferred this academic establishment to the city of Erbil (Hawler) and the name was changed to become (University of Salahaddin). In 1992 University of Sulaimani was reestablished by tremendous efforts and enthusiasm of many Kurdish intellectuals and academics with the people of Sulaimani and was officially reopened on 14th of November. 

Today University of Sulaimani includes (19) Colleges, students obtain BSc and BA degrees in various fields of study.

 The Colleges:
  1. College of Engineering
  2. College of Medicine
  3. College of Dentistry
  4. College of Pharmacy
  5. College of Nursing
  6. College of Science
  7. College of Education
  8. College of Agricultural Sciences
  9. College of Fine Arts
  10. College of Humanities
  11. College of Islamic Sciences
  12. College of Language
  13. College of Law and Political Sciences
  14. College of Administration and Economics
  15. College of Basic Education
  16. College of Physical Education
  17. College of Commerce
  18. College of Veterinary
  19. College of Humanities Education- Saidsadiq  

To provide the necessary teaching staff, the University also awards MA, MSc and PhD degrees in different fields of study. In 2016-2017 academic year, 10925  students attended classes as full-time students, there are (9101) postgraduate students from(1998-2017),  there are (1898) teaching staff and (3190) administration staff too.