University of Sulaimani

About University


The University of Sulaimani (UoS), founded in 1968, is one of the largest public universities in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq. In 1981, the former Iraqi regime moved this higher education academic institution to Erbil (Hawler) by force and changed its name to the University of Salahaddin. In 1992, the University of Sulaimani was rebuilt by tremendous efforts of many Kurdish intellectuals and academics.
It offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes and awards Bachelor’s degrees, Higher Diploma degrees, Master’s degrees, and the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees. 
The University of Sulaimani issues multiple academic  journals.


The university has five campuses:

  1. The Old Campus (located in the city centre)
  2. The New Campus (located on Sulaymaniyah-Kirkuk main road)
  3. Saidsadiq Campus
  4. Chwarta Campus
  5. Bakrajo Campus

The university is home to the following academic centres:

  1. Language and Culture Centre
  2. Gender Equality Centre
  3. Kurdology Centre
  4. Kurdistan Centre for Documentation and Academic Research
  5. Centre for Pedagogical Training and Academic Development
  6. Cisco Centre

phone-handsetmap-markerearthchevron-down linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram